Becoming a pilot is within your reach.

This 12-week course is designed to prepare you for passing the FAA Knowledge Exam, one of the requirements for obtaining a private pilot certificate.* As part of the course, you will be provided with a Sporty‘s Private Pilot Kit, a sectional chart, and our written test guarantee. You can attend Saturday, Tuesday, or Wednesday classes – or mix and match them to fit your schedule!

Let our experienced instructors provide you with the in-depth knowledge needed to pass the FAA Private Pilot Knowledge Exam, which is a big step closer to becoming a certified pilot!

Flexible options — each week you can choose between Saturday morning and Tuesday and Wednesday evening classes for your convenience.

FAQs

Q: Is ground school all I need to receive a pilot’s certificate?
A: No, much like a driver’s license, there are both a ground knowledge portion and a practical portion of flight training.

Q: Do I need to finish ground school before I start flying?
A: No, you do not. We actually encourage you to partake in flying and ground school concurrently so that you will be able to apply your knowledge from class to your experience in the aircraft.


Class Information

  • Entire course is just $649 and includes the Sporty’s Private Pilot Kit, sectional chart, and our written test guarantee
  • Interactive course of study with certified instructors from Sweet Aviation
  • 12-week course with three sessions to choose from each week: Saturdays, 9AM–12PM. Tuesdays, 6–9PM, Wednesdays, 6–9PM
  • Sessions begin January 7 and go through March 28
  • Pass your FAA Private Pilot Knowledge Exam – guaranteed!*
Classes begins January 7! Each of the 12 weeks you have the option to attend either Saturday mornings from 9AM to 12PM, Tuesday or Wednesday evenings from 6PM to 9PM.
 
Week 1: Airplanes and Aerodynamics
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, January 7
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, January 10
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, January 11
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 2: Airplane Instruments, Engines, and Systems
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, January 14
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, January 17
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, January 18
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 3: Airspace
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, January 21
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, January 24
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, January 25
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 4: Airports and Air Traffic Control
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, January 28
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, January 31
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, February 1
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 5: Charts and Publications
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, February 4
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, February 7
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, February 8
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 6: Federal Aviation Regulations
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, February 18
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, February 21
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, February 22
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 7: Airplane Performance, Weight, and Balance
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, February 18
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, February 21
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, February 22
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 8: Aviation Weather Theory and Services
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, February 25
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, February 28
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, March 1
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 9: Navigation Systems, Aeromedical Factors, and ADM
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, March 4
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, March 7
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, March 8
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 10: Cross-country Flight Planning
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, March 11
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, March 14
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, March 15
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 11: Scenario Based Training Day
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, March 18
9AM-12PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, March 21
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, March 22
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)
 
Week 12: Course Review and Practice Test
Choose from three dates and locations to attend:
Saturday, March 25
9-12AM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Tuesday, March 28
6–9PM
Smith Field Airport (SMD)

OR
Wednesday, March 29
6–9PM
DeKalb Co. Airport (GWB)

*Taking Ground School or passing the FAA Private Pilot Knowledge Exam are just two parts of obtaining a private pilot certificate. A minimum of 40 hours of flight training with a certified flight instructor is an additional requirement and is not part of this course. Certain requirements apply — see instructor for details.